

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 8, 2019

Contact: Amie M. Downs 412-350-3711 (office)

412-327-3700 (cell)

amie.downs@alleghenycounty.us

Fitzgerald, Council, ALOM Announce 2019 Banner Community Honorees

PITTSBURGH – County Executive Rich Fitzgerald, Council President John DeFazio, Council Members Tom Baker, Sam DeMarco, Cindy Kirk, Paul Klein and Sue Means, and the Allegheny League of Municipalities (ALOM) today announced the 2019 Banner Communities. A total of 65 municipalities and four municipal authorities received the recognition that reflects a commitment to professional development, prudent fiscal management, transparency, accountability, and proactive communications to engage community stakeholders.

"I'm delighted to see the Banner Communities program continue to grow. Local governments are the closest to the residents they serve, and I'm thrilled to see so many officials and local leaders continuing to strive towards effectiveness and efficiency for those residents," said Fitzgerald. "These officials often don't receive the recognition that they deserve for their hard work. It's just one of the reasons that we have partnered with the Allegheny League of Municipalities on this program. We're proud to celebrate their accomplishments and thank them for their dedication to bettering the lives of our residents."

For the first time, municipal authorities were included in the Banner Community Program, with ALCOSAN, Hampton Shaler Water Authority, Harrison Township Water Authority, and Ross/West View EMS Authority in the inaugural group. Additionally, nine municipalities earned Banner Community status for the first time this year, including Aspinwall, Baldwin Township, Crafton, Leet, Marshall, Oakmont, Pitcairn, Plum, and West Mifflin.

"This is the Banner Community Program's seventh year, and each year more and more municipalities have been recognized for meeting high standards. The awards ceremony has outgrown the Courthouse, and it will likely outgrow the current location soon too," said DeFazio. "It has been rewarding to see it grow each year. This recognition of our local officials' outstanding commitment to the characteristics that allow a municipality to grow and prosper is always one of the best events of the year."

Sixteen municipalities have been part of the Banner Community Program since its inception in 2013. Those communities include Collier, Cranberry (Butler County), Etna, Hampton, Indiana, Leetsdale, McCandless, North Fayette, Ohio, Reserve, Richland, Ross, Sewickley, Upper St. Clair, Whitehall, and Wilkins.

"It's extremely rewarding to have seen this program grow and to have so many communities striving and reach and meeting the criteria set for the Banner Community Program," said ALOM Chairman Peter Poninsky. "This partnership with Allegheny County and ALOM has been a great addition to the programs offered by the League. I thank Jason Davidek and Crystal Sickles for their vision and hard work on this successful initiative."

Another 40 municipalities received the Banner Community designation for multiple years, including Baldwin Borough, Bellevue, Bethel Park, Brentwood, Butler Township (Butler County), Castle Shannon, Crescent, Dormont, East Deer, East McKeesport, Edgewood, Edgeworth, Elizabeth Township, Emsworth, Glassport, Green Tree, Harrison, Jefferson Hills, Kilbuck, Millvale, Monroeville, Mt. Lebanon, Munhall, North Versailles, O'Hara, Pine, Port Vue, Robinson, Scott, Shaler, Sharpsburg, South Fayette, South Park, Swissvale, Tarentum, Verona, West Deer, West Homestead, West View and Wilkinsburg.

The press event and ceremony were followed by a luncheon sponsored by Herbert, Rowland & Grubic (HRĠ).

###

Office of County Executive Rich Fitzgerald

101 Courthouse | 436 Grant Street | Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412-350-6500 | Fax: 412-350-6512

www.alleghenycounty.us

Follow us: allegheny alerts | facebook | instagram | linkedin | twitter | youtube